Elna in Europe – Musbach


kleidWhat better way to end this wonderful, crazy trip than with a big celebration!

My very last stop was with a friend I used to live with in Wörnersberg and as if the reunion wasn’t enough cause for happiness, she was getting married. Cue jumping up and down like excited teenagers.

claudi daniel

The couple’s love story had been one of patience and quiet growth and it was thus very special for me to be able to be a part of their YES to each other. I was just extremely happy for them and for being there and besides, who doesn’t love a wedding. Who?!

houses

Together with the other international guests, a lovely couple from India, we meandered around nearby Tübingen for a break before the wedding busyness. It’s pretty and eccentric, like the best student towns should be, complete with poignant graffiti and sarcastic signs.

hier kotze goether

This one, for instance, saying that the famous writer Goethe puked here, makes fun of the German practice of commemorating even insignificant stays of significant historical figures.

zara scultpure2

After the wedding (beautiful and special, you get the point), it was only a wink of sleep before I was on a train on the way to Munich. I crammed as much chocolate as was possible into my baggage and had dinner with friends at a little Indian restaurant we’d discovered on my previous last night in Germany, four years earlier.

gespraech

Lots of hugs, kilometres and ‘chicken or beef’s later, I was back on SA soil and my post-graduation trip was over. That was three months ago now, and since then I’ve done more local travelling and lots of job hunting (but that’s a blog for another day). Now that it’s all done, I’m so happy I kept with the blogging, despite it being long overdue. Though I struggled with putting my crazy beautiful memories into words, at least my photographs can do some of the talking.

Over and out.
#elnaineurope

**Copyright Elna Schütz 2014**

Leave a Reply

