Elna In Europe – Munich

Want some? Roasted almonds at the Marienplatz, Munich.

Want some? Roasted almonds at the Marienplatz, Munich.

I knew it.
I should’ve blogged consistently from the start, or before you know it I’m two weeks into my trip, with a camera full of photos and backlog. Considering that the time away from the interwebs was filled with adventure-having, people-meeting and oh so much german-food-eating, I think I’m ok with that.

copyright Elna Schutz 2014

Dancing ice skaters in Munich, probably laughing at the clumsy South African trying to remain upright.

Although I’d visited Munich before, it’s never been as long and fun as this time. I noticed for the first time the feeling of the city, with it’s busy people and beautiful buildings. I got several chances to just wander through the city, which I’ve always felt is the best way to get to know one. Suddenly you turn a corner and there’s the river, a small hidden courtyard, or a famous historical place now scattered with tourists and teenagers.

This guy. Yes!

This guy. Yes!

Catching up with several old friends meant reconnecting, and exploring new corners of the city. As much as I’m looking forward to the solo parts of my trip, there’s nothing quite like the combination of the well known by your side as you adventure into the unknown.

DSC_2551

We ate real Berliner Ballen (jam donuts), walked till we couldn’t and laughed more than I have in a long time. When my feet ached at night it was definitely worth every step.

Basically a really good start to a hopefully amazing trip.

The sun sets over the Nynphenburger Schloss and its swans.

The sun sets over the Nynphenburger Schloss and its swans.

More things soon.

*El

Leave a Reply

