Camera & I – Johannesburg

copyright elna schuetz 2013

Braamfontein buildings

Despite living in the capital of South Africa for the majority of my life, I’ve spent surprisingly little time in our bustling urban neighbour, Johannesburg.
Like the dutiful ex-photography student I am, Camera came along on my most recent visit.

umbrellas and bloggers.

umbrellas and bloggers.

Graffiti & taxi blur. Maboneng district.

Graffiti & taxi blur. Maboneng precinct.

I’ve always felt that in Pretoria, people are very reluctant to step outside of their cars and malls to strike up conversation with a stranger. With Joburg’s current urban revival there are a lot more creative public spaces coming into the mix, and hopefully my hometown will follow suit. 

Tyler the cat & my reflection

Tyler the cat plays with my reflection

I’m working on some Europe travels for Camera and me (hurrah!) but till then the Joburg skyline still keeps my heart happy.

*El

Boats on Zoo lake

Boats on Zoo Lake

*copyright to me. shot on my good ol’ Nikon D40*

Leave a Reply

